Skip to content

ATHENA® Leadership Program

ATHENA® Leadership Program

 2023 ATHENA Leadership Recognitions will be given at the 2024 Annual Gala
held February 3rd at Hotel Colorado.


Photos are Previous ATHENA and ATHENA YP Recipients, 2022 ATHENA and ATHENA YP recipients Julie Olson and Ashley Mauldin, and Traci Costa, ATHENA International President and CEO with a few past recipients.


2023 ATHENA® Nomination 

The ATHENA Award is presented to an individual who is recognized for professional excellence, for providing
valuable service to their community and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional
excellence and leadership skills. The ATHENA Award highlights what recipients have accomplished in addition
to paving a path for future successes. The award is established through local host organizations in partnership
with ATHENA’s national underwriters, local businesses, and individual sponsors. By honoring exceptional
leaders, the ATHENA Award Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence.

ATHENA® recipients must meet each of three specific criteria:
• Assists women in reaching their full leadership potential;
• Demonstrates excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession;
• Provides valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the
Glenwood Springs community.

2023 ATHENA® YP Nomination 

The ATHENA Young Professional Award actively supports and celebrates the ATHENA mission of supporting,
developing, and honoring women leaders, inspiring women to achieve their full potential—creating balance in
leadership worldwide. The ATHENA Young Professional Award honors emerging leaders who strive toward the
highest levels of personal and professional accomplishment, who excel in their chosen field, devote time and
energy to their community in a meaningful way, and serve as a role model for young women.

ATHENA Young Professional nominees meet each of the following criteria:
• The individual is an emerging leader who demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in her/his
business or profession;
• The individual provides valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in the community;
• The individual clearly serves as a role model for young women personally and professionally.

About the ATHENA® Award
Inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment - these qualities are embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model. The Award is unique in both scope---local, national and international---and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based.

The ATHENA® Leadership & ATHENA YP Awards are presented to a woman ---or man--- who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.


Past ATHENA® and ATHENA YP Recipients:


1994 – Shirley Schiesser*
1995 – Donna Love
1996 – Tillie Fischer*
1997 – Jan Shugart
1998 – Vicki Lee Green*
1999 – Dr. Cynthia Heelan
2000 – Debbie Wilde
2001 – Martha Cochran
2002 - Mary Steinbrecher
2003 – Ginger Watts
2004 - Sue Lagiglia-Corsentino
2005 – Marianne Ackerman
2006 – J. Robert Young
2007 – Nancy Reinisch*
2008 – Deb Hill
2009 – Alexandra Yajko
2010 – Trish Kramer
2011 – Mariana Velasquez-Schmahl
2012 – Dorothy Snearly*
2013 – Lorie Beattie Courier
2014 – Mary Jean Carnevale
2015 – Marian Smith
2016 – Patty Schaffner
2017 -  Award not Given
2018 – Marianne Virgili
2019 – Maurine Taufer
2020 - Award moved to 2021
2021 – Sharon Raggio
2022 - Julie Olson



ATHENA Young Professional

2008 – Andrea Palm Porter
2009 – Mandy Carlson Murray
2010 – Stacey Gavrell
2011 – Jennifer Rose
2012 – Jessica Lorah
2013 – Jennifer Smith
2014 – Janelle Rhoton
2015 – Deana Hermanson
2016 – Amber Wissing
2017 – Award Not Given
2018 – Crystal Young
2019 – Kati Ledall
2020 - Award moved to 2021
2021 – Claire Noone
2022 - Ashley Mauldin